Weekly Photo Challenge: Self Portrait


My response to the weekly photo challenge. I have a few I could have posted, but I decided to snap another one for the occasion. It would be nice to have time to do it better – really try to summarize who I am in one photo – but part of who I am, is BUSY, i.e. not having time to play around taking lots of pictures of myself.

The stuff on the shelf behind me gives some idea of who I am (although there should really be some origami there...)

A friend of mine (in my forlorn beardless days) once implied that, if you let your beard grow long enough, you cease to be a “man with a beard” and start to become “a beard with a man”. I think I have a way to go before I cross that line. But someday I might let it grow longer to see if I can get a respectable “patriarchal” beard (you know, like the paintings of Abraham or Moses). But I think those long beards look better when they are white with venerable age. Don’t ask me why.

About Matthew Green

I am a translator, origami artist/teacher, and photographer, a blogger, former philosophy professor, and I love to sing. You can see my photos on Flickr and buy prints of some of them on Fine Art America. You can find me on Instagram, Twitter (@mehjg), and in various and sundry other social media sites on the web.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Self Portrait

  1. Gail Green says:

    Wicked cool. Yes, origami could’ve been in it – but the rest – the books, the holy picture, the statue, your priestly collar, the sunlight all give good clues about yourself.

  2. Dave and Elsie Barry says:

    We enjoy your sermons and really enjoy your picture. As a parent I can say you look great. Your Mother should be very happy with this picture.

  3. charlene carrier says:

    Father Matthew…love the simplicity of the bearded priest…you are one person who is always proud to wear the collar..I saw you selecting a few ??pieces of sushi…you were wearing the collar.People know who you are. Congratulations,Father.Charlene

  4. Olivia says:

    You’re kidding right… on the “patriarchal” beard…??? 😉 You’d look more orthodox than a ‘snow-white’ bearded Moses or an Abraham.. lol.. But I totally agree on your last point.

    Your portrait is lovely. I like the way you’ve captured the sun rays to fall in all the right places, making the roman collar ‘glow-in-the-dark’ … brilliant !!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

