World Youth Day 2013


The next World Youth Day with the pope will be in Rio De Janeiro in 2013! I was there in 1997 when Pope John Paul II visited Rio for the World Day of Families. It was a wonderful experience! I was blessed to be among the priests and brothers of the Legion of Christ who were asked to help do practical work for the meeting of the CELAM (the Episcopal Conference of Latin America) which preceded the event. As a result, we got to tag along with the bishops and cardinals to most of the events, and we generally got very good seating. The energy and enthusiasm of the people there was a wonder to behold, as we joined the Holy Father for prayer, song, liturgy, personal testimonies, etc. I’m sure the upcoming World Youth Day will also be a powerful experience. Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures, because I did not have a camera at the time, but I have fairly vivid memories that will stay with me forever.

Deacon Lawrence Klimecki has made a great poster for the event. Click on over to his site to see it bigger! He has lots of other good artwork on his site too. I have two of his signed prints hanging in my rooms in the rectory: Mary, Star of the Sea (which I actually bought before I knew I was coming to the seaport of Gloucester) and The Tree of Life.

World Youth Day 2013

Brazil ©Lawrence Klimecki

About Matthew Green

I am a translator, origami artist/teacher, and photographer, a blogger, former philosophy professor, and I love to sing. You can see my photos on Flickr and buy prints of some of them on Fine Art America. You can find me on Instagram, Twitter (@mehjg), and in various and sundry other social media sites on the web.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

