Joomla! Jumanji!


No, there is no intrinsic relationship between those two things, except that they sound similar. Joomla is an open-source content manager for websites, and Jumanji is a movie from 1995. But there is a further (extrinsic) connection!

This morning I decided to transform our parish website from being an iWeb creation (which means I can only edit it on my laptop) to a web-based system, namely Joomla, which means I can give anyone access to update the site from any web browser with access to the internet. It’s a great idea, but… although I have seen Joomla before, I have never really tried to do anything with it. So today I have given myself a crash-course in it, using web resources. Now the site is basically set up, but it’s not very pretty. However, my nerves are frazzled, so I need to take a break!

That’s where Jumanji comes in… Some friends of mine lent it to me a few days ago, so I am going to sit down on my couch, turn my brain off, and relax, before I break something.

About Matthew Green

I am a translator, origami artist/teacher, and photographer, a blogger, former philosophy professor, and I love to sing. You can see my photos on Flickr and buy prints of some of them on Fine Art America. You can find me on Instagram, Twitter (@mehjg), and in various and sundry other social media sites on the web.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Joomla! Jumanji!

  1. CMSmith says:

    Good move with the website. It’s all so exhausting isn’t it.

  2. Olivia says:

    Yeah I’ve heard of Joomla…. but Jumanji…. definitely not my kinda movie …lol !

Leave a Reply

