A year since I left… and no regrets.


A year ago today was my first full day at home after moving out of the Legionary community. A lot has happened in the intervening 365 days!

Fortunately, I can say I have no regrets. I have no doubt that it was God’s will for me to leave. I am still technically a member of the Legion of Christ, but I’m living as a diocesan priest, and am on a path of continuing discernment of where and how God wants me to exercise my priestly ministry in a diocese.

Certainly, there are some things I miss. I left behind a lot of good friends whom I continue to respect and remember in my prayers. I miss teaching philosophy to the brothers in the Legionary community. There are some aspects of community life that I appreciate even more now that I don’t have them. However, I have also been very much enriched by this first year of parish work. I have been very blessed in countless ways. God has helped me to live this year looking forwards, not backwards.

God alone knows what the future holds, but I can only trust that He will continue to show me His goodness and mercy, and help me in His paternal love to become the priest He wants me to be, to serve Him and His Church.

And, of course, the Legionaries and Regnum Christi members are very much in my prayers. May they find and follow the path God wants them to walk for their own sanctification, for the salvation of souls, and for the glory of God the Father.

About Matthew Green

I am a translator, origami artist/teacher, and photographer, a blogger, former philosophy professor, and I love to sing. You can see my photos on Flickr and buy prints of some of them on Fine Art America. You can find me on Instagram, Twitter (@mehjg), and in various and sundry other social media sites on the web.
This entry was posted in New pastoral experiences and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A year since I left… and no regrets.

  1. Olivia says:

    I’m happy for you… I pray that the Lord may continue to guide your steps along the way.

Leave a Reply

