Hip, Hip, Hurray, for Hobbitus Ille!


Yes, that’s The Hobbit in Latin on my side table! (next to my plasma globe “palantir” and my plush Peter Pettigrew rat from the Wizarding World of Harry Potter…)  It was a great surprise in my mail today.  I can’t wait to read it! What better way to prepare for the film – the first installation of the trilogy, at least – than by reading this classic of fantasy literature in a classic language?

To be honest, my Latin is getting a little rusty.  I don’t teach it any more, and for various reasons, I mostly pray my breviary in English nowadays.  Most of the time I offer Mass in the parish, in either English or Portuguese, so not much Latin there either.  This will be a welcome opportunity to enjoy and refresh my memory of both both a great book and a great language!

Thanks to my parents, who I believe are the ones who bought this for me off my Amazon wishlist!

About Matthew Green

I am a translator, origami artist/teacher, and photographer, a blogger, former philosophy professor, and I love to sing. You can see my photos on Flickr and buy prints of some of them on Fine Art America. You can find me on Instagram, Twitter (@mehjg), and in various and sundry other social media sites on the web.
This entry was posted in Arts and literature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hip, Hip, Hurray, for Hobbitus Ille!

  1. Gail Green says:

    Yes, your parents wanted you to have a couple things in hand to celebrate your ordination anniversary, the start of Advent, and just because.

Leave a Reply

