A “must-see” church in Waterbury, CT


If you live near or ever drive through the city of Waterbury, Connecticut, give yourself a treat and visit the Basilica of the Immaculate Conception.  It’s quite near Rte. 84 so it’s easy to swing by on your way through town. It’s truly a beautiful church. I stopped there yesterday on the way back from a funeral I presided in northeastern CT, and I am very glad I did.  The Blessed Sacrament was exposed for adoration, so I took advantage of the opportunity to pray some of my Liturgy of the Hours.  They also offer confession at various times every day all week. The full schedule for Mass and confession is here. Their web page has good information, although the presentation is of the style Web 0.1.

I hope to visit again soon, bringing my camera and tripod so I can post some photos of this marvelous work of art and architecture. In the meantime, here is a nice photo I found in Russ Glasson’s photostream on Flickr.

About Matthew Green

I am an origami artist and photographer (and teacher of both), a blogger, a freelance translator, former philosophy professor, and I love to sing. You can see my photos on Flickr and buy prints of some of them on Fine Art America. You can find me on Instagram, Twitter (@mehjg), and in various and sundry other social media sites on the web.
This entry was posted in Traveling. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A “must-see” church in Waterbury, CT

  1. tantamergo says:

    Glory be to God, what a beautiful church! Would that we had more churches like that built today! The transcendence, the beauty, even the mystery of the Mass are very well displayed in such a stunning structure. Thanks for calling this to our attention!

Leave a Reply

